Steampunk Museum | Prologue

IMG_7708.PNG

[Location: Behind the school building]

Madara: Heheheeh ♪

I am filled to the brim with joy! I looove playing with new toys ☆

So how do I open this puzzle box?

…Ahh, I’ve got it!

Turn the lid around! Remove the screw and put it on the side! Turn to the right twice, to the left thrice, and my oh my! With the lid opened, I am now faced with a treasure ♪

Heheh! It’s filled with candy. Guess it’s cuz we’ve gotta get some sugar in our systems after using our heads!

Or maybe they still think of me as a little baby?

Either way, it would be a waste to only play with it once! This time I’ll solve it with my eyes closed ♪

IMG_7748.PNG

Mika: ……

Madara: (Hmm… I feel like someone’s watching me. They’d call out to me if they had business with me, so I can just ignore it…)

(But I really feel like they’re staring right at me, so… Welp, guess I’ll call out to them ♪)

Hey, you! The one hiding there! Come out and play with Mama!

Mika: …?!

Madara: (Uhh… They hid in the bush. I only caught a single glimpse of them so I might be wrong, but I think that was Mika-san?)

Mika: ……

Madara: (Oh, he came out. Hahaha! He’s just like a stray kitty ♪)

(It looks like he’s interested in the box I’m carrying. Hmm, maybe he wants to play with it but can’t say it?)

…Heave-ho! Staying in the same position has made my muscles get all stiff!

I’ll jog to loosen them up! …Ah, but I wouldn’t want to break this while running around carelessly! Lemme just place it right here.

The sky is so blue and the sun is so bright! Feels so good! I feel like I can run anywhere ♪

IMG_7709.PNG

Mika: (…Nnah, he left? He acts over-familiarly with everyone, an’ he’s got a loud voice t’boot, so he’s real hard to approach…)

(But he ain’t a bad guy… Maybe I shouldn’t have ignored him…)

(But still…)

This box sure is pretty! An’ now that I’m lookin’ at it more closely, it’s so detailed, too ♪

I happened t’come across Mikejima-senpai when he was playin’ with this, but maybe it was creepy of me t’peek at him…

But, I mean, talkin’ to Mikejima-senpai requires some real guts…

Uhh… But I’m curious ‘bout this box, so I guess I’ll ask him where he bought it when he comes back.

IMG_7710.PNG

Madara: Call for me and I shall appear! Doot doo-doo-doooooot ♪

Mika: Nneeek?! Mikejima-senpai?! Stop! Don’t lift me up!!

Madara: But you’ll probably run away like a stray kitty if I let you go!

Mika: Ya might be right, but still! Say, ain’t ya back way too soon?!

Madara: Yup! I pretended to have left for a jog, but I was actually hiding over there!

Even when I call out to you, you get really vigilant and refuse to come out… So I figured I could make you come out if I disappeared!

Mika: I get it, so jus’ put me down already! I’m scared! I feel like I’m gonna fall!!

Madara: Sorry, sorry! There you go.

Mika: Ugh, that was horrible… My head’s spinnin’…

Madara: I humbly apologize, from the bottom of my heart! That aside, do you like puzzle boxes like this, Mika-san?

Mika: Mmm… ‘s more like I thought Oshi-san’d like it, so I was thinkin’ of givin’ it t’him as a gift.

Madara: Then I will give it to you, Mika-san! Say, you like candies, don’t you? The candies in the box are all yours as well ♪

Mika: Nnah! I can’t let ya give me that for free! We’ve been participatin’ in DreamFes lately, so we have a fairly nice income.

I wanna give Oshi-san somethin’ I bought with my own hard-earned money ♪

Madara:Yeah, I get your point. But this isn’t for sale, so you won’t exactly be able to buy it.

Mika: Huh, really? Did ya make this, Mikejima-senpai?!

Madara: Hahaha! I won’t deny that I’m pretty good with handicrafts, but there’s no way I could make something like this!

It’s just that a museum I’ve loved since I was a kid got renewed recently.

They requested me to prepare a live concert for their renewal celebration event.

The theme of the event is steampunk, and it seems they’ll display things like this puzzle box.

By the way, this is a prototype of a product that will be made for the event. I got it from someone in charge.

Mika: Ahaha. Ya sure know so many people, Mikejima-senpai.

IMG_7711.PNG

Madara: ……

Mika: …? What’s wrong, Mikejima-senpai? Ya look concerned… Is the job not goin’ well?

Madara: Yeah. I was requested that and all, but there is no unit I can ask. I’m honestly pretty stumped.

Mika: Huh? Why don’tcha jus’ do it yerself?

Madara: It’s not like I can’t— it just doesn’t fit my image. I’d like to ask a suitable unit.

Mika: What’s that steampunk-themed event like?

Madara: From what I’ve heard, it looks like they will decorate the museum in a steampunk-y fashion.

They’re gonna display a ton of stuff, like skeletons and crystals made of tin, and this puzzle box you liked so much.

Mika: Steampunk-y fashion, huh…?

Madara: Say, Mika-san. Don’t you think the steampunk aesthetic would fit Valkyrie’s image?

Mika: Nnah, yer right.

Oshi-san collects books an’ photo-albums to use as reference, an’ I feel like I’ve seen some steampunk related stuff among ‘em…

Madara: Wow! This is the epitome of unexpected good luck! So what do you think, Mika-san? Wanna take this job on as Valkyrie?

Mika: Huh?! W-why?!

Madara: Valkyrie’s been pretty active lately, right? Surely this whole thing depends on your schedule, but could you possibly have any other reason to refuse?

Mika: Uhh… T-that’s, I mean…

There ain’t nothin’ I can do ‘bout that! Oshi-san’s the one who’s got the right t’decide, so we’ve gotta ask him!

Madara: Then ask him for me please! I’ve gotta talk to the management of the museum tomorrow, but I haven’t decided anything yet…

It’s fate that let us meet through this puzzle box! I want you to lend me your power!

Mika: Nnah, don’t bow yer head! Uhh, even if ya say all that… I mean, if ya need help, I wanna lend ya my power, but I dunno what Oshi-san’ll say…

Nnaah! What should I do? What in the world should I doooo?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started